My Chat with Cora!

Hello and welcome!

Today I have a very talented artist who does some amazing digital designs. I first heard of her when M. A. Abraham told me that she hired a new cover artist for her books and I think this was a great decision!

Please welcome Cora from Cora Graphics!

Cora-1

Cora! I love this cartoon portrait of you!

Do you have a nickname?
Cora is my middle name and nickname.

What is one word best describes you?
Curious.

What makes you laugh out loud?
Hubby’s ironic humor 😀

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
The smell of  laundry. Reminds me of childhood and afternoons spent in the laundry room with my mother and my grandmother.
This made me think of my own grandmother’s farm. The rugs were done at the river along with the neighbours and I loved the banter and teasing, the whole country side was echoing with laughter. Happy memories! I love hanging my laundry to dry in the sun, the smell is heavenly.

Favourite place to spend time in.
In the countryside, walking with my dogs.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
Horror.
I agree on that.

Designing book covers! What started it?
In 2011, while I worked as a web designer at a graphic design studio, I felt it wasn’t what I wanted to do. Book covers caught my attention and then I realized that is what I wanted to be… a cover artist! So I started to create images, I designed a small website, uploaded the images I created and waited. It paid off!

What do you like most about your work?
I like everything, but above all, the possibility to be creative.

I know what it takes, being a designer myself, but many readers do not know, I think it would be great if you could give a short description of what are the steps in creating a book cover.
I start with a contract. The author needs to know my work rules and I need the graphic details, essential for starting the project and quote.

Then comes the image search. After I find the images I think are suited based on the story’s outline provided by the author, I send them to the author which in turn chooses the best one and I create a first draft. The author and I work together on the changes.

Unlike many artist I offer “unlimited changes.” Sometimes it is counterproductive, but I am of the view that the customer must be completely satisfied with the result. If not born a relationship of trust is almost impossible to create a beautiful cover.
I so agree on this! Without trust and communication, the results are not quite satisfactory.

What was the most challenging cover to create?
There have been many difficult covers, but I love challenges.

Who is your favourite artist?
I love two artists: Jon Paul Ferrara and Gene Mollica.
I checked them out and they have awesome designs.

Do you remember one of the first things you drew/sculpted/painted/photographed? What makes it memorable?
I remember the drawing that I did the first day of school. I designed a Barbie, and since then I have not stopped. I won several school competitions with my Barbies.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies or maybe a fun story about an experience involving your artwork?
I love to read.

If you could choose another career what would it be?
I would love to work in the library.
I would love to work surrounded by books, a library or a bookstore!

Thank you Cora for the chat and wishing you much success in your future.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you enjoyed today’s chat and you will check out Cora’s designs, I think she is amazing.

CoraGraphics-logo
websiteRomance Novel CenterFacebookPinterest

Here are a few of “before & after” images to give you an idea of the process and work that goes in the covers that grace the books you purchase.

beforeandafter-1 beforeandafter-2 beforeandafter-3 beforeandafter-4

And here are the covers she designed for M. A. Abraham‘s various stories, and because I know the stories inside out being the author’s ‘Alpha reader’, I can tell you that the covers represent the stories beautifully, especially that Cora doesn’t read the books beforehand.

Screen shot 2015-05-13 at 9.33.46 AM

Question of the day

question-300x300

Is the cover part of your decision to buy a book?

To me, the cover is a start, it is what grabs my attention. Being a graphic designer, my eye is trained to appraise it differently.

Cora is graciously offering 1 lucky commenter, who will be chosen by Sexy Mr. Random, an image created by her. In case the winner is an author, one “pre-made book cover” complete of texts and changes, the link will be provided. If the winner is a reader, a couple of choices will be provided to choose from Cora’s designs. Winner will be posted after 3pm EST on Tuesday, May 19, 2015. GOOD LUCK!

Take the time to really check out the cover of the book you are reading, the colours, the fonts used, what makes it a pleasing sight. Until next time!

34 responses to “My Chat with Cora!

  1. Cora does amazing work. She designs for our company, Tirgearr Publishing. We call her Chef because we can give her obscure ingredients for a cover and she creates amazing results.

  2. I met Cora through an invitation to one of her events and the rest is history. I have been challenging her to higher levels with my covers ever since and she has never disappointed. Her work seems to raise the bar for anyone else who is in the same field. (And there are times, I am sure, she groans when she sees one of my emails with yet another project.) Three more coming up yet and next year a special one, as I begin to write my new series.

    • Forgot to say that I think Cora is a wonderful person to work with, professional and courteous at all times. Her artwork is fantastic.

      • Totally agree with you MA! She is such a doll!

      • Mary Ann… my client more difficult but also wonderful :)! Thanks to you I am learning so much. Your challenges forced me to commit myself to the maximum and that’s good for me.
        I confess, sometimes you’re demanding but I like to work with you. Thank you for choosing me, thanks and thanks again.

  3. Pingback: My Chat with Cora! By Eniko | M. A. Abraham

  4. Betty Olsen

    Interesting and informative interview Eniko. I must admit, the first thing that catches my eye of a book or ebook is the cover, then I read the blurb (unless it’s one of my favorite authors!!). Cora does some fantastic work and I wish I had that talent. Must really be fun and interesting to do.

  5. julie

    Hi ladies Marvellous post. Indeed I can’t tell you the amount of books I’ve bought just because I liked the cover. I’m a really cover lover

    • Hi Julie, I’m a book addicted. I bought many books just because loved the cover. The cover is the first thing we see a book, is her dress and our eye is always attracted to a nice dress ;-).
      Thanks for your message.

  6. emilylucero

    A great cover to a book is important. It is usually the thing that draws me to read the blurb about the book . If I love the author and would but the book any way it is still wonderful to see a cover that totally goes with the story. Love the covers Cora.

    • I totally agree Fran! The cover is what makes me pick up a book in the first place, then I read the blurb. This is from authors I haven’t read. Authors I read and love are on auto buy 😀 thanks for dropping by and for sharing as usual.

  7. Hi Emily, a beautiful cover is essential for each book. I think that is important also for the sales.

  8. Mary M.

    Thank you for the interview, Curious Cora! A beautiful cover that fits with the book’s story enhances the books I read. It can make me pick up a book by an author I have not read yet.

  9. Hi Mary M. I agree with you.

  10. violagrace

    I have admired her work for years and folks are enjoying the covers I have so far. (I am making a list of 9 more) 🙂

  11. Renae Miller

    Love Love M.A. Abraham books!! Love fanasty and paranormal books!! Love book giveways!! Can never ever have enough books!!

  12. Sexy Mr. Random just whispered the winner’s name 😀 it is Julieeeee! CONGRATS !!! Will be in touch shortly! Thank you all who dropped by and commented! XOXO to those who shared 😀

  13. Congrats Julie, I will contact you ASAP!

  14. Pingback: My Chat with Adam…. yum yum | seelkfireice

  15. Pingback: Cover Reveal for ‘INTO THE DEMONS LAIR’ | seelkfireice

  16. Pingback: INTERCESSION by M. A. Abraham – Cover Reveal | seelkfireice

  17. Just getting the word out. We all love talented authors to get great covers, because they do help engage a readers.

  18. Reblogged this on BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN and commented:
    If you are in the market for a book cover designer, contact Cora Graphics. Take a look at her work and enjoy the interview with Eniko.

  19. Pingback: Meet GABRIEL! | seelkfireice

  20. emilylucero

    Really love your covers Cora. A cover is one of the first things that draws me to a book is the cover.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 577 other followers

Follow seelkfireice on WordPress.com

past chats

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blogs I Follow

Crimson Quintessence

Welcome to My Personal Blog, My writing spot, My play place

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Victoria Zak

Medieval Paranormal Romance Author

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

seelkfireice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

