My Chat with Paul Woodson

Hello and welcome!

Today my guest is one who gave life to many books I loved thru his narrations, so far all were in the Highlander Romance genre and his deep voice, full of passion and the Scottish brogue makes my heart melt.

Please welcome Paul Woodson!

PaulWoodson-2

Do you have a nickname?
I do, but only between me and my wife! I also have a pseudonym in the narration world, but I won’t spill it here, although it’s easy enough to find with a little searching. And my alter ego is nearly overtaking the REAL me in the narration world!

What is one word best describes you?
Curious. In both senses. 😉

What makes you laugh out loud?
Something really unexpected. I’ve seen so much, hopefully I’m not jaded, but it takes a lot these days to surprise me.

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
A tin of dark coffee. It makes me think of a brisk morning, ready to tackle the day.

Favourite place to spend time in.
In my free time, I enjoy backpacking. I’ve section-hiked over 700 miles of the Appalachian Trail, and every year I try to put in another 100+ miles, usually in the warm months. I’ve done Northern Virginia all the way up to New Hampshire, with a couple gaps here and there.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
I’ve done just about all of them. And I’m not averse to sexual content whatsoever (though sometimes I’ll record it under a pseudonym). The only thing to which I really take exception is anything that a) is too stupid to merit an audiobook, and by that I mean non-intellectual, unenlightening, perhaps even insultingly bad; or b) promotes a violent or malicious agenda in real life.

Audiobooks! What started them?
It was a natural progression, especially as standard acting work had been slow for me and I needed to make some money. I’d been primarily a stage actor in musicals in my 20s and early 30s, doing some great projects both in and outside of New York, but I never cracked that Broadway nut. I toured with Robert Goulet, played opposite Debby Boone & Robert Cuccioli, but only got so far. Then as I needed to make more money, I gravitated more and more toward Union Film & TV work, which pays a decent rate if you can get the work.

But because I’ve never really meshed well with agents, (and I have had several over the years), I never got past doing Background and Stand-In work on most professional Film/TV projects. Some days were good; Standing in for Philip Seymour Hoffman for a couple months, making Jane Krakowski laugh on the set of 30 Rock– you remember those standout great moments. But usually, I’d be standing on set among other extras who had NO acting experience, thinking, “I have a BFA in theater. I’ve done Shakespeare, Opera, performed with Broadway stars. What in the hell am I doing here?”

So, since I’d always been an avid reader, fond of language, with a good command of character voices and dialects, I dipped my toe into audiobooks and immediately started booking paid jobs. I’d say it was sudden, except that really, I’d been training for it my whole life.

Is there a genre that you would not narrate?
That’s the same as Question #6, no? 😉
No! That question was about books you would not READ, but I guess we could joined them. Logically, if you would not read them, you would not narrate them either 😉

If you could choose another career what would it be?
Well, ideally I would be getting paid for both my face AND my voice, traveling to Europe, Asia, around North America and getting paid to sing musical theater. And maybe I will again. I love to travel, and so does my wife. But right now, it’s kind of nice to set my own hours, frequently work in my pajamas, and have direct access to clients.

I would also be happy working as a screenwriter in LA, of TV or films. I feel that was always the road not taken, which may have proven the better choice had I picked it.

Does your work convey a specific emotion or message?
I just try to convey the character and mood of the piece as the author envisioned it. That may be romantic, idealistic, fantastical, brooding, etc. My voice must serve the story. In a sense, I hope I can convey ALL emotions at different points in the narrative.

Who is your intended audience and why should they listen to your audiobooks?
I wouldn’t say I have a target audience; I hope my YA novels entertain and educate and get young folks into reading or listening to stories; I hope my Highland Romances deliver a nice ripping yarn with plenty of manly men and sassy lassies; and that my more “Adult” work (wink) can make the ladies a bit weak in the knees.

I’ve actually done a fair bit of erotica under a pseudonym, but although it’s sexual, the titles I’ve picked have always felt very classy – more sensual, always by female authors. I’m on my fifth for the same bestselling author in that genre and it’s great that we connect, that she finds me the ideal voice for her work. I’ve gotten great reviews like “The gentleman that reads it for you will make you melt!” and “Breathtaking! A sexy Scottish accent… Swoon…. “. It’s pretty gratifying knowing my voice may be alluring to some stranger thousands of miles away.

I’ve worked on darkening my timbre a bit since the beginning of my audiobook career, so I’m pretty sure it’s sexier now than when I started. And this comes in handy for the standard Romance novels as well, which get pretty steamy in their own right.

And I’ve gotten some great compliments that I do female characters equally as well as the male ones– I don’t get cartoony, but women and men have different tones to their voices, different words they stress, and different subtexts they play in speech. It’s not necessarily a higher pitch for women’s voices– in fact, in some scenes the woman may be speaking at a technically lower pitch than the man– but the tone quality and the intention create the characters. I truly enjoy playing those subtle differences between the sexes.

However, I also want to emphasize that everything I do vocally is in service of each particular story, so if the book is a light children’s adventure, the throaty, husky Scotsman’s brogue disappears for awhile.

What is next in your narrating work?
Well, a wide variety of things. Under the pseudonym, I have another erotica for my bestselling friend. I’ve just released 2 wonderful adventure stories under my own name. And I’m hoping to book some more Highland and Regency romances, to be honest. They have really become my staple this last year, and I have been told I do them quite well. They also have a humongous fan base, and I would love to reach as many listeners as possible that way, and perhaps entice them to listen to some of my other genres as well.

Also, I’ve just released a Nathaniel Hawthorne short story, THE BIRTHMARK, which was a bit of an in-between project for me, entirely for my own gratification, because it made an impression on me when I read it in school. I feel that too many readings of Hawthorne are a bit dry and crusty, but his language and characters are really very soaring and romantic, so I wanted to deliver that kind of Shakespearean lift to the language. I think I did quite well!

I’ve also just applied to some major publishers, as I’m hoping to do some larger-scale narration work. 2015 will be my first APAC, the big Narrator/Publisher conference in New York City, so I’m hoping to meet a lot of great people and figure out how to take my narration to the next level.

Thank you Paul for taking the time for a chat in my little space of the blogging world. Looking forward to listening to more of your narrations. Wishing you much success in the future. Next I will hunt down your alter ego 😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you enjoyed today’s chat and you will give a chance to Paul Woodson’s audiobooks. I agree with the reviewers he mentioned… ” The gentleman that reads it for you will make you melt!” and “Breathtaking! A sexy Scottish accent… “.

The one I am listening to at the moment is CAPTURED BY THE PIRATE LAIRD by Amy Jarecki and love what I heard so far.

iPadPic

Here is my review of one of my fave books by Ceci CiltenanHighland Courage: Duncurra, Book 2, narrated by Mr. Woodson :

HighlandCourage

“another great listen”

Overall all 5 stars – Performance 5 stars – Story 5 stars

“This story so wonderfully written. I fell in love with Tadhg in the first book and Mairead is a wonderful choice to be his wife. Their story is a true love story, the way it should be. Despite many obstacles, they stayed true and believed in each other and the end was a welcome surprise, it left me smiling. I highly recommend to buy and read the books by Ceci Giltenan, she is a great storyteller. Congrats on your choice of narrators, Ms. Giltenan!
Listening to Tadhg come alive thru Paul Woodson’s voice made me fall in love with him even more. Thank you Mr. Woodson for another great audio experience. Looking forward to more.”

Screen shot 2015-05-22 at 10.10.45 AM

Here are links to find out more and keep up to date with Mr. Woodson and his work:

websiteAudibleTwitterSoundCloudACX

To start you on your listening journey, Mr. Woodson is giving away 5 copies of HIS NOT SO SENSIBLE MISS by Jane Charles (a Regency Romance with a bit of sexy stuff).

HisNotSoSensibleMiss-cover

Emily Frasier has lived as the ward of Duke Ellings since her father died when she was 15. She also knows that soon it will be time to leave his household and make her way on her own. When she discovers a cottage while visiting her aunt and uncle, she knows this is where she wants to live and become a teacher, as her father once was.

Dillon Chambers must find a wife this season in order to please his mother. If she didn’t have control over something more precious than his freedom and life, he would not have made the promise to marry a lady with high connections at the end of the season. When he comes across Emily at his cottage and learns she is the ward of a duke, he feels his luck has finally changed. He could please his mother and settle with a lady he would actually want to have as his wife.

When the truth becomes known in London that Emily is only a professor’s daughter, Dillon knows his parents will never approve. Will he risk everything to have her? Will Emily do the sensible thing or risk her reputation and heart so that Dillon doesn’t destroy all he holds dear?

Winners will be chosen by Sexy Mr. Random and posted after 3pm EST on Monday, May 25, 2015. GOOD LUCK!

Until next time read a book, listen to a book and don’t forget to show your love by leaving a review!

27 responses to “My Chat with Paul Woodson

  1. Sounds really interesting Eniko, I am really not into Audio, because of past experiences, but you are slowly winning me over with the new voices that are hitting the market, continue with the posts and to your guest continued luck with your chosen career, will have to check out the voice. 😉

    • Oh MA! I am addicted to audios. I listen when I drive mostly, but they give the eyes a break too. I know about bad listening experiences but luckily they were few. A great voice that can bring a book to life is worth the experience.

  2. Pingback: My Chat with Paul Woodson by Eniko | M. A. Abraham

  3. julie

    Really enjoyed the interview. I absolutely love listening to audios. I enjoyed listening to the wonderful snippet. Wishing all the best, and long may Paul entertain us with his amazing narration

  4. This was a great interview. Paul Woodson is fast becoming one of my go-to narrators. When he talks about how women speak and the nuances in their voices compared to men, I relate well. I found his work very entertaining. You didn’t mention RED by Jennifer Anne Davis. That was a great listen.

    Thank you, Eniko, for featuring Paul. I don’t reblog often, but this one I intend to.

    • Thanks for dropping by Eileen! Happy you enjoyed it and that you rebloged it too! I have not listened to RED yet, will have to check it out.

      • Either thought Paul didn’t narrate book 1, you have to read it. Luckily, you have one and two available, because book 1 was a cliff hanger. There is still another one after this–I’m keeping my eyes out for that one.

  5. Reblogged this on BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN and commented:
    Here’s a great interview given by Eniko at seelkfireice (a blog worth following!) and a chance to get into the mind of a wonderful narrator, Paul Woodson. I’ve enjoyed his work to date and will be listening to more of his narrations very soon!

  6. Great interview! I can’t help but share that Paul is also a great person, and incredibly helpful and supportive of new narrators trying to find their footing in the awesome world of audiobooks.

  7. Betty Olsen

    DON’T ENTER ME Eniko, as you know I’m not into audio. Loved the interview though. It’s interesting hearing how they get started into this profession. Always love reading your chats!! 🙂

  8. emilylucero

    I so enjoyed the chat. I would so love to be able to hear the full scale of Paul voice. So miss my audio books .

  9. emilylucero

    You know not to enter Eni much as I would love to hear him narrate a story.

  10. Mary M.

    I am lucky to have my own hot hubby Paul who can whisper sweet nothings in my ear, but the more sexy voiced men reading to me the better! Watch out, Paul, Eniko will track down your alter ego and keep him locked up and reading to her forever, she is very persistent 🙂

  11. Sunshine Kath

    I love to read and although I like a mix of genre, I love a good HR and Scots are a favourite.
    I’ve only listened to a couple of audio books, so perhaps Mr Woodson with his recommended swoon worthy voice could persuade me to listen to audio books more.
    I found it very interesting how you became the narrator for what seems like some fabulous stories, thank you for sharing.

  12. And I have the winners for HIS NOT SO SENSIBLE MISS audiobook courtesy of Mr. Woodson! Mary Ann, Julie, Eileen, Mary and Kath! Congrats! Happy listening! Will contact you shortly.

  13. Pingback: My Chat with Calum! | seelkfireice

  14. Pingback: My Chat with Amy Jarecki | seelkfireice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 564 other followers

Follow seelkfireice on WordPress.com

past chats

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blogs I Follow

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

seelkfireice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

