My Chat with Reece Butler

Hello and welcome!

Today I have one of my fave authors I had the honor meeting in person last year at Romancing the Capital event in Ottawa. She is a riot 😀

banner

Please welcome Reece Butler!

Reece Butler writes character-rich ménage romance featuring hot Montana cowboys and 16th century Highland Scots.

A geeky bookworm who loved reading science fiction, she headed to university for a science degree. Discovering she disliked calculus and physics, she switched to arts. That allowed her to spend a semester in London, England (in Camden Town) before marriage and children, and a science editor day job, took over her life.

She never read a romance until she found the right antidepressant and discovered there could be a Happy Now, as well as a Happily Ever After. The first romance book she picked up, “Nobody’s Baby But Mine” by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, changed her life. She invaded the local library and read romance voraciously for a year until challenged to write one herself.

When she attended her first Romance Writers of America (RWA) conference she discovered there were crazy people just like her, and she hasn’t looked back. She believes there’s no such thing as too many books, bookshelves make the perfect wallpaper, and dark chocolate is a food group.

Reece writes erotic menage stories featuring Montana cowboys and Highland Scots. She does lots of research, in person, on paper, and online. Three weeks driving 1,000 miles in Highland Scotland provided a rich background to craft her hot new historical series featuring the 16 men of Clan MacDougal. Two weeks visiting Montana ghost towns and a month working on Montana guest ranches did the same for her Bride Train and Climax, Montana cowboy series.

Reece at RT e-book expo 2013.jpg

Do you have a nickname?
No, the name Reece Butler is pretty short already. So am I, according to my six-foot-plus brothers and sons.

What one word best describes you?
I would like to say “joyful”, since I try to find joy in my life and to share it with others, in real life and in my books. The word that fits best is ‘bookaholic’ since I am not comfortable without a book nearby, or a paper and pen to work on one.

What makes you laugh out loud?
Intelligent wit. Also dancing wild and crazy with a tall cowboy, especially if it scandalizes those watching.

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
The scent that flows from a warm ocean breeze. It reminds me of days boogie boarding with my young sons in Australia while camping there for months. A boogie board is a short surfboard you lie down on, so far easier than surfing.

Favourite place to spend time in.
All-time favourite is inside a wonderfully crafted book. If you’re talking physically, it would be a warm tropical beach, building sand castles and snorkeling. I really, really dislike being cold, which happens often as I have low blood pressure.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
Horror and ‘dark’ books. I am very sensitive, which is a good thing in an author as I can feel and so describe what my characters might in the. The downside is that I also sink into well-crafted books as it becomes real to me. I’ve never enjoyed being frightened, perhaps due to being worried for most of my life.

Writing! What started it?
I’ve been writing since I was six, though non-fiction, as in letters to my grandmother, essays, and work reports. I never even read a romance novel until I found the right anti-depressant. Seriously — if I couldn’t believe in being happy now, how could I believe in Happily Ever After? My life changed once my brain chemistry was balanced. I devoured romance paperbacks from the library, this was long before e-books and, after a year, was challenged to write one.

If you could choose another career what would it be?
Perpetual student. I’d love to spend my time researching whatever takes my fancy, delving into rabbit holes and skipping over what doesn’t interest me. There would be wonderful discussions with interesting people, in interesting places. Time to think, to ask questions, and to have them asked of me. This would, of course, require me to be independently wealthy.

Audiobooks! Any plans to have any of your books in audio format?
I would love it, and have approved the possibility, though the decisions are up to my publisher. I laugh here as I do not have an aural memory so would never listen to an audiobook. I’d forget what had been said two sentences later.
I love audiobooks!

Does your work convey a specific emotion or message?
I would like readers to think it is possible for them to find joy in their lives, no matter how difficult their past or present. It takes great courage to not only love and believe in yourself, but to realize others could love you as you really are. It’s especially difficult to love yourself if you were raised to believe you weren’t good enough, or weren’t worthy of being loved.

Who is your intended audience and why should they read your books?
My main audience is thinking women who enjoy falling in love with complex characters who, discovering they are truly loved, find the courage to face their demons.

Many of my heroes and heroines learned early that what they thought was love often brought pain, and so fear it. Yet that love was not true — it came with conditions that could not be met. Believing they are flawed, these heroes and heroines think they do not deserve to be cherished. By the end they have helped each other find the courage to accept and give unconditional love, and so discover a life of joy.

I hope readers may find a touch of that courage from reading my books, and so take steps to change their own lives. Unconditional love means being loved for yourself alone, not what you do or provide. You are loved just for being you.

What is next in your writing?
I am working toward finishing the 6th Climax, Montana (contemporary cowboy) novel, and many more in that series are planned.

1 highland_menage_banner.jpg

I also have three sets of 16th century MacDougal brothers to complete the Highland Ménage series. I’d love to take another trip to Scotland for further research…
Can I come too? 😀

Thank you Reece for taking time to chat with me. Looking forward to reading more of your yummy stories.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for joining us and I hope you enjoyed the chat.

If you missed my chat with two of her hunks, Jet and Roger, check it out.

Check out the spotlight on Ms. Reece at one of my fave blogs, Mary’s Menages Reviews.

To keep in touch with Reece Butler and check out all her yummy books, follow the links below and if you chat with her, tell her I said hi 😉

websiteFacebook •  GoodreadsBookstrandAmazonB&NiTunes

To start you on the journey into her book world, one lucky reader, chosen by Sexy Mr. Random from the comments, will get an e-book from the Climax, Montana series, winner’s choice, courtesy of Ms. Butler. The contest is open until 3 pm EST, Monday, October 17, 2016. GOOD LUCK!!!

Until next time read a book, listen to a book and don’t forget to show your love by leaving a review!

8 responses to “My Chat with Reece Butler

  1. Pingback: My Chat with Reece Butler, by Eniko – M. A. Abraham

  2. Julie

    Really enjoyed your chat. Wishing Reece all the best

    • Thank you, Julie 🙂

      While Reece only writes erotic menage romance, before my first book was published I drafted a number of traditional romances. I’m going back to them, as well as continuing with contemporary Montana and historical Highland Scotland.

      The traditional romances will be self-published under the name Anna Kilduff, which honors both my grandmothers.

      The one I’m working on takes place in Outback Australia, drawing on the five months I spent camping and traveling there. I took many notes and photos which, being self-pubbed, I can use tol help bring it to life for readers. The heroine is an American woman who works on a cattle station out by Longreach, Queensland, as housekeeper during the American summer.

      I have outlines for at least 15 more traditional romances and have no intention to stop writing 🙂

  3. Truly enjoyed your visi Reese. Will have to ry one of your books.

  4. Betty Olsen

    Enjoyed the review and who doesn’t love sexy Highlanders!! I love them. 🙂

  5. I finally got to rope in Sexy Mr. Random LOL and he picked Emily! CONGRATS and happy reading. Will be in touch shortly.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 633 other followers

Follow SEELKs fire & ice on WordPress.com

past chats

October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blogs I Follow

The Red Hatter Book Blog

Two crazy red heads and never enough books!

Crimson Quintessence

Welcome to My Personal Blog, My writing spot, My play place

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Victoria Zak

Medieval Paranormal Romance Author

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

SEELKs fire & ice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

