My Chat with Amy Jarecki

Hello and welcome!

Today I have a sweet and incredibly talented author whose books I discovered not long ago and have been listening to the audiobooks with a voracious appetite. I say keep them coming 😀

Please welcome Amy Jarecki!

Amy Jarecki Head Shot_Smaller

A descendant of an ancient Lowland clan, Amy adores Scotland. Though she now resides in southwest Utah, she received her MBA from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh. Winning multiple writing awards, she found her niche in the genre of Scottish historical romance, writing steamy edge-of-your-seat action adventures with rugged men and fascinating women who weave their paths through the brutal eras of centuries past.

When time is available, she lectures on writing topics at conferences across the US.

Facebook Banner 12-2014 3D - Enhanced for Presentations1

Amy’s first published novel, now titled “Boy Man Chief“, won the League of Utah Writers award for Best Manuscript, and the St. George Spark Book Award. Since then, she has won many other writing awards. In November 2014, her novel, “Captured by the Pirate Laird” hit #24 on Amazon’s top 100 bestseller list. She’s also a “crowdsourced” winning author through Amazon’s Kindle Scout Program.

Do you have a nickname?
laughing I’d like to say no. But my family doesn’t allow anyone to slip by without a bevy of nicknames. My dad calls me LBTWAJG (LB for short). It stands for Little Bitty Teeny Weeny Amy Janer’s Gal. blushing My brother calls me Elf. My mother calls me Prunella Sue, and Prune Face when she’s irritated with me. LOL

What is one word best describes you?
Perseverant.

What makes you laugh out loud?
So many things. I love to laugh!

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
Chocolate chip cookies in the oven. Reminds me of Christmas!

Favourite place to spend time in.
Scotland. I go every couple of years.
It is on my bucket list and seeing the pics you post from your travels make me want to go ever more.

Dunottar Castle-Stonehaven-Scotland

My fave pic is of Dunottar Castle, Stonehaven.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
I can’t read horror, else I have nightmares.
Me neither *shiver*

Writing! What started it?
I’ve written all my life, but I started my first novel in the late 90’s after reading a Tom Clancy book. Believe it or not, my manuscript was a thriller—and awful!

If you could choose another career what would it be?
I used to be a general manger for a large corporation. I imagine I’d still be working in big business.

Audiobooks! How do you choose the best voice for your stories?
That’s hard, though there are more narrators signing up with ACX every day. I have been really happy with Dave Gillies from Glasgow. He has a Scottish accent that’s easy to understand, and he’s narrating the Highland Dynasty Series for me.
You did mentioned him when we chatted and I agree, he does have an amazing voice.

Does your work convey a specific emotion or message?
Of course, my books are romances with happy endings, but I always try to weave in historical events and accuracies about the characters whenever possible.

Who is your intended audience and why should they read your books?
My audience is readers of historical romance. If they like action adventures set in the Highlands with rugged men and fascinating women, they might like my stories.

What is next in your writing?
So much is going on right now. I’m writing a series about the first Jacobite uprising for my agent, and I’m also writing a time-travel series that takes place during the time of William Wallace. I don’t have release dates yet—but will soon!
Looking forward to more!

Thank you for inviting me on your blog today!
It was a delight Amy! Thank you for joining me in my little corner of the blogging world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for joining me here and I hope you enjoyed the chat with Ms. Jarecki. If you follow my blog you probably read My Chat with Calum, one of my book boyfriends from her books, his story is Captured by the Pirate Laird, book 1 in the Highland Force Series, or the chats with the wonderful narrators of her books…. yes I had a chat with each one of them 😉

Brad Wills, Paul Woodson, and Dave Gillies

Ms. Jarecki loves hearing from her readers and can be contacted through her website. She can also be found on Facebook and Twitter. If you do chat with her, say hello from me 😀

Check out the books and keep up to date: AmazonB&NiBooksAudibleGoodreadsnewsletter

I was browsing on youtube, because I am curious that way LOL and found this gem:

Ms. Jarecki got the rights back for it and it will be re-released soon with a new cover.

Virtue

Sheltered, raised in rural Utah, Zoe Marshall has never heard of the Mayan Prophecy of the Golden Goddess—but she’s about to. At the moment she’s thrilled to have landed her dream job dancing on a cruise ship where she meets Belizean Gabriel AhKin. The sizzling bartender stirs her passion. When the ship docks in Belize, Zoe disappears—spirited into the bowels of a Mayan cult led by a reclusive fanatic. After the madman sees her, he divines Zoe is the Golden Goddess. She is “the one” to fulfill the prophecy. Now Gabriel’s driving obsession is to rescue the woman who’s captured his heart.

Sounds like a good story, no? I am looking forward to reading it or if it comes out in audio, listening to it.

Another story that sounds really good is the “Rise Of A Legend“, book 1 in the Guardian of Scotland Series, coming November 5, 2015.

Legend-cover

Running away from her catastrophic life, historical journalist Eva MacKay joins an archaeological dig at the battleground of Loudoun Hill. Unearthing the seal of William Wallace, Eva gains notoriety. But her dreams of Bowie knives—the weapon that murdered her husband—morph into great swords and dirks.

Drawn to a ruined monastery, Eva drifts into the worst nightmare of all. Awaking to the sharp point of a madman’s sword, she’s hurled into the midst of a bloody thirteenth century battle. Just when certain death is eminent, brutal arms surround the lass, dragging her deeper into unknown terror.

When Eva realizes she’s been hauled to the hideout of rebel William Wallace, a revelation dawns—she’s landed the story of a lifetime—if she can stay alive and find a way home to tell her tale.

What she doesn’t count on is her mounting chemistry with the greatest legend Scotland has ever known…or the absolute love swelling in her heart.

Preorder links: AmazonB&NiBooks

To start you on the journey into her book world, Ms. Jarecki is giving away the audio version of Knight in Highland Armor , book 1 in Highland Dynasty series, narrated by Dave Gillies. What a story and what a voice giving it life, I cried at the scene where he is singing the farewell song at the hero’s Father’s funeral, breathtaking.

KIHA-Audio

In 15th century Scotland, Gyllis Campbell arrives at the Beltane festival with one thing on her mind – to win the heart of Sir Sean MacDougall once and for all. Astonishingly, Sir Sean would like nothing more than to oblige the lovely lass. But when news of his father’s death arrives, Sean races for Dunollie Castle. Unaware of Sean’s tragedy, Gyllis departs the festival thwarted. Worse, a terrible illness strikes her down, and she’s sent to the cloisters of Ardchattan Priory for healing.

Plagued by raids on his lands and deception in his ranks, Sean is embroiled in a battle to regain control. Worse, pulled in a myriad of directions, adversity runs rampant as Gyllis struggles to regain her health and Sean battles the very demon who covets his title. Fighting for their lives, both must face their demons before their love can blossom.

I finished listening to it last week, I loved it, find my 5-star review here.

The winner will be chosen from the comments by Sexy Mr. Random after 3pm EST on Monday, October 26, 2015. GOOD LUCK!

Until next time read a book, listen to a book and don’t forget to show your love by leaving a review!

15 responses to “My Chat with Amy Jarecki

  1. Hi Eniko! Thank you for the opportunity to visit your blog! Goodness, I forgot to mention that Rise of a Legend will be released on November 1st. Ah well. Maybe next time 🙂

  2. julie

    I’m really enjoying listening to this the story and Dave Gullies narration are keeping me enthralled. Wish Amy all the best

  3. Wow your books sound really good. I love audio books I’m gonna have to check these out. Scotland is on my bucket list to go visit too.

  4. emilylucero

    As usual I loved the interview. Virtue sounds really good and I hope it comes out in print too as audio is a no for me. I have visited southern Utah many times . I live in northern Utah. The scenery where you lve Amy is gorgeous.

  5. Great interview girls, loved it… I had intended on going to Scotland on one of my business trips to the U.K. once, but ended up in board of director meetings instead… such a disappointment… so close. Sigh… Good luck, I have several of your books already.

  6. Pingback: My Chat with Amy Jarecki With Eniko | M. A. Abraham

  7. Thanks for the interview, still chuckling over Prunella!

  8. I have the winner!!! Sexy Mr. Random picked Julieeeeee! CONGRATS!!! Will be in touch shortly.
    Thank you all who came by and hope to see you next time.

  9. Pingback: My Chat with William | seelkfireice

  10. Pingback: My Chat with Hugh | seelkfireice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 631 other followers

Follow seelkfireice on WordPress.com

past chats

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blogs I Follow

The Red Hatter Book Blog

Two crazy red heads and never enough books!

Crimson Quintessence

Welcome to My Personal Blog, My writing spot, My play place

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Victoria Zak

Medieval Paranormal Romance Author

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

seelkfireice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

