My Chat with Jennifer Gibson!

Hello and welcome!

Today I have an amazing lady who I invited for a chat as an artist, but found out she is so much more…

Please welcome Jennifer Gibson!

JennGibson

Do you have a nickname?
I have several from years of playing sports. My last one was “Goose” since we were Top Gun fans and one of my friend’s
nickname was “Maverick”. The one before that was “Skippy” which lasted several years.

What is one word best describes you?
Tenacious

What makes you laugh out loud?
The movie “Get Smart” featuring Dwayne Johnson always makes me laugh.
I have not watched it, but I have seen the trailer and it is funny LOL

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
Dark Chocolate. When I was in Victoria, we were walking down the street and that glorious scent wafted up to us. It was from
the store “Rogers’ Chocolates”, our favourite place to shop in British Columbia. I was born in Victoria so this was rather special for us.

Favourite place to spend time in.
On our screened-in porch with the fire going, I love to sit on the couch and read while sipping a glass of cool sparkling wine.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
I don’t like dark or extremely violent stories since I’m a very sensitive person. I prefer books that can make me laugh like Janet
Evanovich.
I will have to check them out.

Designing book covers! What started it?
After I designed my own book covers, I’ve had many requests from other authors to do theirs. I’m a professional illustrator, photographer and graphic designer, so this was a natural segue and it turns out that I truly enjoy doing it.

What do you like most about your work?
I love the creative challenge of coming up with a design that captures the essence of the story and turning it into a powerful and mystical cover.

I know what it takes, being a designer myself, but many readers do not know, I think it would be great if you could give a short description of what are the steps in creating a book cover.
Most authors already have a good idea of what they want on the cover, we often discuss the details in terms of what kind of images we want to use for the background, the type of people or objects to use as well as themes (romance, sci-fi, historical, young adult, mystery, etc…).
I find that reading a chapter or two really helps get an idea of the feel of the story, particularly if it’s a specific scene that we want on the cover. Then I search for a couple of stock photographs or go through my own collection of images to find the right combination. At that point, it’s up to me to do my magic. The covers I design are visually complex featuring many, many layers of artwork. It takes time and intensive focus involving lots of detailed work. Once I think I’m close to capturing what they want, I will send them a sample to determine what needs to be adjusted. This usually involves changing the font or overall colours, adding or removing an object. Once that is done, I place the blurb and testimonials to the back cover. This process can take anywhere from 3 to 5 days depending on how detailed the cover is.

What was the most challenging cover to create?
I would have to say my own since I was just learning how to do book covers at that point. My work has progressed considerably since then and I’m incredibly grateful for the experience. It has made me a much better designer.

Who is your favourite artist?
I loved the way Georgia O’Keeffe painted flowers that focused on their vibrant colours and textures of the petals. It was on a macro level that made you view them in a different light.

Do you remember one of the first things you drew/sculpted/painted/ photographed? What makes it memorable?
I’ve been sketching, painting and doing photography since I was a very young child. I was influenced by both of my parents’ hobbies which essentially led me to my existing career today as a professional illustrator, graphic designer and photographer.

Jenn-fencing

Do you have any other interesting hobbies or maybe a fun story about an experience involving your artwork?
By day I’m a designer or photographer depending on the job, at night I’m a fencer in Foil and Sabre. I’ve been fencing at two different clubs and I’m the only one that is deaf.

If you could choose another career what would it be?
Initially, I wanted to be a police officer and in fact, applied to the Ontario Provincial Police. Midway through their tests, I was pulled aside and told not to continue because of my hearing loss. They said that I didn’t qualify. I was devastated. Soon after that experience, I became a certified private investigator.
A private investigator? That is so cool.

Thank you Jennifer for spending some time with me and I am looking forward to read your stories and checking out your beautiful covers you create.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for checking out the chat and I hope you enjoyed it.

As you read, Ms. Gibson is not only an amazing cover designer, but also does photography AND is an author too, which I found out after she responded to my invite for a chat as a cover artist.

JennifersStudio-logo

Check out her amazing work on her website.

I loved the cover she did for Erika M. Szabo‘s “The Ancestors’ Secrets” series. Remember My Chat with Ilona ?

2 coversCheck out the covers she created for her own books, I love the designs, I will have to check them out. Hope you will too.

3 covers

A few of the covers designed for other authors

2 covers-AnneRowan2 covers-anthologies

LTT-covercuriouscoverweb

Awards

badges

Sway  was a Finalist in the 2012 InD’tale Magazine RONE Awards.

Sway, Compass and Destiny were all Semi-finalists in the Book Cover Contest at AuthorsdB.

Sway  is a 2014 Literary Classics Seal of Approval Recipient!

Sway  won Silver in the 2014 Literary Classics Book Awards!

Sway  is a Stargazer Literary Prizes Honorable Mention winner for Young Adult.

Sway received a 5 star review from Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews!

Compass was a Third place winner in the AuthorsdB Book Cover Contest for the Young Adult Category for 2014.

Compass was selected as a Finalist and received Honorable Mention for Best Cover for the 2014 RONE awards.

Compass is a Stargazer Literary Prizes  Finalist award winner for Young Adult.

Compass is a 2014 Literary Classics Seal of Approval Recipient!

Destiny  was a winner for Indie Book of the Day Award.

Destiny  received a 5 star review from Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews!

Destiny  is a 2015 Literary Classics Seal of Approval recipient!

Quite impressive!

Here are the links to peruse the art, the photography, check out the books and hopefully follow Ms. Gibson.

websiteFacebookTwitterAmazon Author Page

B&NiTunesKoboSmashwords

Card-Happy-Birthday
source

It will be Jennifer’s birthday in a few days, help me wish her a very happy & magical day and much success in the future. To celebrate, she is giving away books!!! Make sure you comment to be entered in the draw. 2 lucky winners will be chosen by Sexy Mr. Random and the prizes are winners’ choice of one book from Ms. Gibson’s back list. Canadian winner will get the print book, international winner will get the ebook.

Winner will be posted after 3pm EST on Monday, July 13, 2015. GOOD LUCK!

Take the time to really check out the cover of the book you are reading, the colours, the fonts used, what makes it a pleasing sight. Don’t forget to show your love by leaving a review! Until next time!

10 responses to “My Chat with Jennifer Gibson!

  1. I enjoyed the interview with Jennifer Gibson. To be a successful book cover designing, she certainly has all the talent. Happy Birthday, Jennifer!

  2. julie

    The covers are absolutely marvellous. Wish Jennifer all the best with everything. Really enjoyed the chat. Happy birthday Jennifer

  3. Wishing Jennifer a happy and healthy birthday, with the same to follow thereafter. Love the interview. My graphic designer says I need an illustrator, but people who do covers tend to like the challenge.

  4. Pingback: My Chat with Jennifer Gibson! with Eniko | M. A. Abraham

  5. emilylucero

    A very Happy Birthday Jennifer.You do beautiful work. Enjoyed the chat

  6. Aw shucks! Thanks guys. Yes, I am a professional illustrator (graduate of Sheridan College) which had a huge impact on my ability to design book covers 🙂

  7. Mary M.

    Wow, Jennifer, you are quite the talent! Have a wonderful birthday!

  8. Carolann

    Happy Birthday, Jennifer. I hope you day brings you many moments of happiness. Have a great day.

  9. Betty Olsen

    Enjoyed the chat with Jennifer. I don’t think readers (myself included) realize how much work goes into making the covers for a book and Jennifer’s are fantastic. Loved the ones she did for her books and the colors are gorgeous! Happy Birthday Jennifer and hope you have a grand one and your continued success with your work.

  10. Sexy Mr. Random has picked the winners!!!! Mary Ann and Fran! CONGRATS!!! Will be in touch shortly! Thank you all for dropping by and hope to see you next time!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 564 other followers

Follow seelkfireice on WordPress.com

past chats

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blogs I Follow

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

seelkfireice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

