My Chat with Erika M. Szabo

Hello and welcome!

Today I have a great author whose books I discovered a few years ago and whose heroine was the first female to come for a chat on my blog. You know how I love my book boyfriends and I couldn’t decide between the two heroes, so Ilona came instead 😀

Please welcome Erika M. Szabo!

ErikaMSzabo

Do you have a nickname?
I never had one until I went to a medical conference a few years ago. The lady who was making the name tags asked my name, and I told her it’s Erika with a K. So she wrote Kerica on my name tag, and it kind of stuck.
That is too funny, but it is sad in a way too.

What is one word best describes you?
I would say dreamer. I dream big and work on it hard to make it come through.

What makes you laugh out loud?
Small, spontaneous things in life such as when my cat farts and have that “what did just happen? Am I gonna die?” expression on her face.
LOL my pooch used to do that too, hilarious… the faces I mean, but the smell… OY… it could be used for biowarfare 😀

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
Peppermint. My mom’s purse always smelled like peppermint.

Favourite place to spend time in.
I’m going to sound dork, but my favorite relaxing place is the big old armchair next to the fireplace, with a good book.
Not to worry, you are in good company. Most who come here, myself included are bookworms.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
I don’t read erotica.

Writing! What started it?
My daughter’s annoyed statement. She said, “If you don’t have a good book to read, then write one!”
I’ll have to thank her for that, I am glad you took up the challenge.

If you could choose another career what would it be?
My career is being a nurse. Writing is my favorite hobby.

Audiobooks! Any plans to have any of your books in audio format?
Working on it.

Does your work convey a specific emotion or message?
Don’t be afraid to use your imagination, dream big and work hard to make it come through.

Who is your intended audience and why should they read your books?
Readers who like historical facts and real life events mixed with fantasy, and like unexpected twists and turns in a story.

What is next in your writing?
I’m working on another health related book about alternative treatments for asthma, and a ghost story.

Thank you Erika for coming for a chat and I am looking forward to more books.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for dropping by and I hope you enjoyed the chat.

book covers

I love the covers of the print book versions of the “The Ancestors’ Secrets”, gorgeous.

2 covers

The Ancestors’ Secret series is an epic fantasy, heroic romance series with magical powers, ancient legends, love triangle and time travel that is a great fantasy lovers and also suitable for young adults.

Here is a book trailer done a while ago for “The Ancestors’ Secrets” series:

5907828

PROTECTED BY THE FALCON

Ilona is a doctor and is ruled by logic. When she starts to develop unusual powers, her beliefs change and she’s thrown into a world of mysteries, traditions and secrets. She doesn’t know much about her heritage besides legends and rituals when begins to remember her mother’s instructions concealed as rhymes. The discovery of her healing power and ability to freeze time is exciting and frightening. A sinister man appears and Ilona connects his presence with the series of mysterious deaths around her. She has been in love with her unsuspecting best friend, when she meets a stranger. She is drawn to him and confused by the sudden magnetic feeling.

The readers said:
“This is so different from the usual fare churned out by ordinary writers.” -Valerie Byron
“Mystery, suspense, romance and well developed characters that hold reading interests from its beginning to end.” -J Faye
“Original, mystical and unique; in fact it’s so original I have nothing to compare it with.” -Miss Devora
“I could feel and visualize what was happening as if I was right there.” -Lauren Sloan

Buy links

ChosenByTheSwordErikaMSzabo800

CHOSEN BY THE SWORD

In book one, Protected by the Falcon, Ilona is thrust from her easy and steady life and forced to face the unknown, which prompts her to discover ancient tribal secrets. In book two, she obtains unimaginable abilities to protect her sister, who bears the next leader of the clan. She can use her powers for absolute good or absolute evil; the choice is up to her. Ilona’s birthright as a Healer runs alongside her desires as a woman. She must sort through her own feelings about the men in her life. Travel with Ilona from the time her people were nomads, to the castles of the 14th century, to present day, as she struggles to overcome the obstacles placed in her path.

The readers said:
“This is so different from the usual fare churned out by ordinary writers.” -Valerie Byron
“The characters felt real and the secrets are alluring. You will get hooked in right away.” -Brenda Barry
“Szabo introduces readers to a fascinating world of ancient rights conducted by a secret order.” -J.E. Rogers

Buy links

TwentyEightTinyPaws800

TWENTY EIGHT TINY PAWS

We found seven orphaned fox pups in our backyard, back in 2005, and I want to share my memories of them with people who love and respect animals. Watching these magnificent wild animals as they grew, played, learned and fought for leadership, was a wonderful experience. They demonstrated their wild instincts as well as their love and compassion for one another. They will always be in our memories and in our hearts. For one delightful summer, we had our very own fox family.
The pictures in the book are my amateur, bad quality photos that I made with a cheap, digital camera hiding behind trees, at the corner of buildings and in the bushes, but I wanted to add the original pictures to the book instead of illustrations.
Part of the royalty from the sales of the book is donated to wildlife sanctuaries and animal hospices.

Buy links

StrangeSymptomsBizarreCravings800

My next read will be STRANGE SYMPTOMS AND BIZARRE CRAVINGS, it sounds interesting!

The symptoms, our body’s signals of diseases and conditions, are fascinating. This book contains unusual symptoms, strange food cravings, vitamin deficiency and overdose symptoms. Also a list of foods that keeps your body healthy as well as easy, whole body detoxification methods. The main purpose of this book is to urge you to pay attention to the signals that your body is sending you.
When I was a child, I often craved sweets. But, when I asked my mother if I can have a candy bar, she gave me a bowl of fruit salad with nuts and raisins, or to my utter disappointment, spinach. She knew by instinct, or rather experience, that my body didn’t need empty calories. What I needed was chromium, phosphor and sulfur from certain foods. After I entered nursing school, I started experimenting with the interpretation of my body’s signals, and I’ve noticed a few things, which were very interesting.

Buy links

To contact Ms. Szabo, keep up with her books, or say hello, here are some links:

websiteTwitterFacebook • AmazonB&NKoboSmashwords

Join her newsletter and stay up to date.

erikamszabo_1431295781_68

In addition to writing books, Ms. Szabo does a whole range of author services, including book cover design, formatting of ebooks, editing, illustrations, book promotions and many more.

She has an awesome tab, “You’ve Made My Day” on her website, where she thanks her readers, that is so cool.

To start you on your reading journey, Ms. Szabo is giving away ebook copies of “Twenty Eight Tiny Paws” and “Strange Symptoms and Bizarre Cravings”. There will be two winners chosen by Sexy Mr. Random, and will be announced after 3pm, EST, Monday, June 8, 2015. GOOD LUCK!

Until next time read a book, listen to a book and don’t forget to show your love by leaving a review!

15 responses to “My Chat with Erika M. Szabo

  1. Awesome post Eniko, thank you so much for having me on your blog!

  2. Awesome sounding books, I should look into them. As you know I am into fantasy, and these look like something I would read.

  3. emilylucero

    I could have sworn you interviewed Erica before. LOL I won the first book. and I have the second coming. Enjoyed it very much.

    • LOL Fran! It was not Erika who came for a chat, but her heroine, Ilona who came, as I mentioned at the beginning of the post. Glad you enjoyed the book, it is dear to my heart.

  4. julie

    Another marvellous interview ladies. Wishing all the best

  5. Betty Olsen

    Another fantstic interview Eniko. I loved Erika’s – Protected by the Falcon -was a very different and unique story. One of these days will have to the get the second one-my kindle is so loaded now. 🙂

    • Thank you Betty! Glad you enjoyed the chat. I did see your review for the first book, it was mentioned on Erika’s website under the “You Made My Day” tab. Thanks for dropping by!

  6. i have not read any of Erika’s books yet. I think my first one will be – Strange Symptoms, Bizarre Cravings. It sounds hilarious. Carolann

  7. Sexy Mr. Random just told me the winners of the giveaway. The two winners are Emily and Betty! CONGRATS ladies, I will be in contact shortly!
    Thank you all who came by! Have a great week and hope to see you on Friday!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 564 other followers

Follow seelkfireice on WordPress.com

past chats

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blogs I Follow

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

seelkfireice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

