My Chat with Howard Shapiro

Hello and welcome!

Today I have an amazing author of children’s books. But not any kind of books, they are relevant to today’s struggles school-aged children face and their triumphs in difficult times. Personally, I think they would appeal to readers of any age.

Please welcome Howard Shapiro!

howardshapiro

He lives in Pittsburgh, PA with his wife and two sons. The Controller for the Pittsburgh-based Visual Effects firm, Animal Inc., he has also written four children’s books and The Stereotypical Freaks is his debut Graphic Novel. His 2008 book, Hockey Player for Life, has been the #1 downloaded children’s hockey e-book on Amazon’s Kindle chart since its arrival as an e-book in November of 2011. His Hockey Days book was the only book featured in the December 2007 Sporting News Annual Gift Guide as a Best Buy Gift for Children. Through a corporate sponsorship program he set up and maintains, since the 2010-11 season, both of his children’s hockey books have been given to NHL teams, over 2,500 copies to date, for use in their community and educational initiatives. Since 2006 his annual charity raffle, which he matches dollar for dollar donated, has raised funds for several hockey-related charities including the Mario Lemieux Foundation, Hockey Fights Cancer and the Keith and Lisa Primeau Scholarship Fund.

HowardShapiro-banner

Here is my review for “Stereotypical Freaks“: “I bought this book for my son in the hope that will help me give him the ‘reading bug’. He doesn’t like reading, but he loves comics and as this is written as a comic book he actually reads it … YAY ME!!! It has a very good topic, being different which as we know is a big thing for the school-aged kids. I of course read it already and I recommend this book to any child or adult.” 5 stars

StereotypicalFreaks-coverFreaks-1stpage

And now onto the chat, pull up a chair and read on.

Do you have a nickname?
No, I haven’t had a nickname since I was a teenager. Back when I played baseball and was the first baseman my teammates used to call me Stretch Armstrong cause of my long legs and arms. If the ball was thrown anywhere near first base I could usually catch it.

What is one word best describes you?
Dedicated

What makes you laugh out loud?
Lately my teenaged son has been watching “Angry Grandpa” videos on youtube and when he shows them to me we both laugh hysterically. They are pretty dumb and vulgar but that’s what makes them so funny, I guess!

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
I have to say the smell that you get in any bakery. Whether it’s the bread or the cookies, I can’t think of a better smell. I think that maybe that reminds me of the times when I was young and my dad would take me into this bakery near where he grew up.

Favourite place to spend time in.
Actually, it’s the office I work in. I really enjoy my time here. We have a great office and where I sit is very quiet and its very conducive to writing, especially after 6:00 PM and mostly everyone is gone.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
No, not really. There’s certain genre’s that I don’t read a lot of (children’s and chick lit) but that’s not because I have anything against those genres. Mostly, I read graphic novels but I think anyone who writes should be constantly reading and reading anything and everything that you come across. It’s almost like a musician, the best musicians are the one who are influenced, and listen, to many styles of music not just one type. The only way to learn and grow is to be open and have your eyes and ears open at all times!

Writing! What started it?
I loved, I mean LOVED, the Encyclopedia Brown books when I was young and ever since reading those I wanted to write. I kind of took a bit of a detour in my teens and wanted to be a sports writer but that came and went. But, the Encyclopedia Brown books were the biggest influence on me.

If you could choose another career what would it be?
It would definitely be being a drummer in a great rock and roll band. I played back in my earlier years but never in a band or even jamming with friends. But one day, maybe I’ll get back behind the drums and see if I could improve enough to be a decent player!

Audiobooks! Any plans to have any of your books in audio format?
Actually, my publisher is looking into that possibility whether it is through a audio book publisher or doing them on their and then selling and distributing them on their own. I really hopes this comes to fruition!

Does your work convey a specific emotion or message?
That’s a good question! I would like to think that the reader will get really into the story and feel like they the characters. I usually try to elicit a certain emotion like I did with “The Stereotypical Freaks” and also with “The Hockey Saint.” So, the goal is always to move the reader and have them invest in the story and hopefully get the emotions and feelings and message that you as the writer are trying to put forth.

Who is your intended audience and why should they read your books?
Because I’ve done two graphic novels, I think that people kind of think that they are just for kids but I really feel that they are for anyone ages 10+. I think adults can get just as much out of them as the life lessons I convey are pretty universal. Hopefully, adults take away as much from my books as do kids!

What is next in your writing?
Thanks for asking!! I am, as we speak, writing the final book in my “Forever Friends” Trilogy. It will take place 10 years after the end of “The Hockey Saint” and have a nice thread to that book as well as part one, “The Stereotypical Freaks”. The writing is coming along and I have a great team lined up to illustrate and letter the book as well. I’ll be doing a cover and title reveal event on my Facebook page on my 50th birthday on September 10th. Also, we’re looking to have the book done and out in the summer of 2016.

Thanks for this wonderful opportunity, Eniko!! It was a lot of fun to do!!

Thank you Howard for taking time out of your busy schedule to spend in my chat room!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you enjoyed the chat and you will give Mr. Shapiro’s books a try. These books make great gifts for any age.

To keep in touch with Howard Shapiro and check out his other books, follow these links:

websiteAnimal Media GroupFacebookTwitterGoodreadsYouTubeAmazonB&NKobo

HockeySaint-cover

The Hockey Saint Shirt Promo

Here is a chance to get you started, as Mr. Shapiro is graciously offering a signed copy of The Hockey Saint along with one promo t-shirt. Winner will be picked by random.org from those who comment before 3pm EST, Friday March 13, 2015. GOOD LUCK!

Until next time read a book, listen to a book and don’t forget to show your love by leaving a review!

10 responses to “My Chat with Howard Shapiro

  1. Loved the interview, this is something different.

  2. Pingback: My Chat with Howard Shapiro by Eniko | M. A. Abraham

  3. emilylucero

    Loved the interview and what a great way to get kids to read. I use to love what we called comic books. Thanks for coming by Howard and the chance to win a book.

    • Glad you enjoyed Fran! I try anything and everything to get my little man to read and it seems these books work, so I am sticking to this LOL I enjoyed them too. Thanks for coming by! XOXO

  4. julie

    Wish Howard all the best. Loved the interview. It’s a marvellous way to get them to read

    • Glad you enjoyed the chat and thanks for popping in and sharing it, Julie! Still not there yet, but I am not giving up, so I am coming up with more ingenious ways to get my little man to read 😉

  5. Mary M.

    Terrific interview! My husband learned to read from comic books when he was little, and he is a voracious reader now! Everyone in our family enjoys graphic novels, and we will definitely be checking out Howard’s books!

  6. And we have a winner! emilylucero!!! CONGRATS!! Will contact you shortly.
    Thank you all who came by and commented. Have an awesome weekend.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 577 other followers

Follow seelkfireice on WordPress.com

past chats

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blogs I Follow

Crimson Quintessence

Welcome to My Personal Blog, My writing spot, My play place

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Victoria Zak

Medieval Paranormal Romance Author

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

seelkfireice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

