My Chat with J. D. Hart

Hello and welcome!

Today I have J. D. Hart, The Pirate Storyteller with me. He is “the voice” behind many books I love and has the ability to turn something great into awesome bringing something special to each book, bringing them to life with passion. The versatility of his voice amazes me every time, accents are perfectly rendered, the mood of the characters come across clearly, the various characters of different gender and nationalities are well defined. I love it when he whispers in my ear 😀

JD-PirateShip

Thanks for coming to my little corner of the blogging world, JD!

Do you have a nickname?
My full name is John David Hart. Years ago when I was an MCA recording artist I traveled with a band that had three Johns. It was a bit confusing when someone called out the name John. I decided that to simplify matters, I would just use my initials J.D. I am also lovingly referred to as the Pirate Storyteller.

What is one word best describes you?
Passionate
Perfect description I think.

What makes you laugh out loud?
A karaoke singer who doesn’t know he can’t sing on pitch.

What is your favourite smell? What does it remind you of?
Burning wood. It reminds me of the wonderful crackling fires my Grandfather used to build in the living room when I was a kid. We would sit around the fireplace and play our guitars and sing.
Mine too! I loved sitting by the wood stove in my grandparents kitchen.

Favourite place to spend time in.
Riding my bicycle through the countryside, standing on the porch of a chalet in the mountains taking in the beauty of fall colors. Strolling along the beaches of St. Maarten and St. Thomas. Sometimes just being alone listening to the sound of silence, music or a good audio book.

Is there a genre that you refuse to read?
I really don’t care for Punk or Science Fiction.

JD-microphone

Audiobooks! What started them?
I began my career in radio at the age of 18. I would voice commercials and narrated a show entitled, “The Unexplained”. I fell in love with being in front of a microphone and creating art with my voice. Later, I became a recording artist and used my voice to sing.

I love your songs, my fave is “Meet Each Other Now”

and “Walk With Me”

Disenchanted with the lack of autonomy in the music industry, I auditioned and landed the role of a national TV spokesperson for Chevrolet. That afforded me the opportunity to not only be the on-camera talent but voice many of their radio and TV commercials as well.

I began getting some roles in films and there I had the opportunity to really work on my skills as an actor. Finally, one morning I woke up and proclaimed that all of that had been foreplay to what I really wanted to do, narrate audio books. I sent my demo reel to an agent and was handed three books to narrate that same day. My previous years as a VO talent, singer and then actor were, in my mind the perfect skill set for launching a career as an audio book storyteller.

Is there a genre that you would not narrate?
I have not come across a genre as of yet that I would refuse to narrate. I would probably least prefer political.

If you could choose another career what would it be?
There is nothing that I would rather do than breath life into an author’s story. But if I had to choose another career, it would be …. would be … it would be … hmmmmm I suppose a film director.

Does your work convey a specific emotion or message?
Yes, indeed! It is my job specifically to convey the author’s message and add the element of emotion where and when it is needed. It is my job to bring the characters to life and convey what is going on in their heads, according to my interpretation of what the author is trying to convey. That’s the beauty of it. I get to layer in another element, more depth to the author’s story.

Who is your intended audience and why should they listen to your audiobooks?
Having the good fortune of being selected by award winning New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sharon Hamilton to collaborate with her as her storyteller, I feel that my intended audience is for romance and paranormal romance. Sharon being the most gifted and talented writer of romance coupled with my being a hopeful romantic and the pirate storyteller is a wicked savvy combination. It is our intention and our desire to give our listeners something not only for the ear but for the heart as well. A listening experience that will draw them into the story and feel as if they are living and breathing it.

What is next in your narrating work?
“SEAL My Home” by Sharon Hamilton. Coming soon!
I can’t wait to hear it!

Thank you for sharing your voice with us and making books come to life!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you enjoyed my chat with The Pirate Storyteller.

For those of you who have not listened to him yet, I urge you to do.

You’ll fall in love with his voice, just as I did.

To keep in touch with Mr. Hart and check out his amazing work, click on the links below.

websiteabout.meSoundCloudThe Book VoiceFacebookPirate Storyteller FB •  TwitterYouTubeAudible

QUESTION

3D Character and Question Mark

Do you like audiobooks? What is your favourite genre to listen to?

One lucky commenter, chosen by Sexy Mr. Random, will win an audiobook, winner’s choice from J. D. Hart’s discography. The contest will be open until 3pm, EST, Tuesday, February 17, 2015. GOOD LUCK!

Until next time read a book, listen to a book and don’t forget to show your love by leaving a review!

32 responses to “My Chat with J. D. Hart

  1. Very interesting and informative interview. Sounds like you have lived a interesting and somewhat charmed life, not everyone gets to live their dream… then again you have to work hard to do that and not everyone is prepared to do that.

    • I love that word “charmed”. I read “Your Erroneous Zones” by Dr. Wayne Dyer when I was 16 years old. It changed my life forever. I developed a belief system that if I could control my thoughts and focus on what I wanted to happen in my life, I could create it. Thoughts lead to words, words lead to action, action leads to habit, habit leads to character and character leads to destiny. There have been many stumbling blocks along the way but I try to remain vigilant and always believe that I am ultimately in control of the outcome of my life and legacy. It’s true that I have lived somewhat of charmed life. That is my wish for everyone. Life is not about surviving the storm but rather dancing in the rain. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Chat with J. D. Hart | M. A. Abraham

  3. Mom kept pulling me out of rain storms , said I would be hit by lightning one day. 😉

  4. Renae Miller

    Never listen to a auto book before!! Would give it a try!!

  5. emilylucero

    Really enjoyed the chat Eniko and thank you so much for coming by JD. I would love to get one of the books but have a real hearing problem. Had to give my other audio books away.

  6. Waving like mad to JD and Eniko marvellous interview thank you both really enjoyed it

  7. Eniko, Coop is sending you hugs and kisses!!!

  8. Lol…whichever you prefer. I named my rum-loving sidekick after your favorite SEAL. Coop is my favorite SEAL too. 🙂

  9. I enjoyed meeting J.D. Hart. It’s wonderful to see a narrator who has found his/her niche. I love listening to historical romance and enjoyed various accents that go along with the listen. Yes, I think the narrator adds lots to a story, that is, if he knows how “to create art with his voice”. Loved that quote from the interview. I also like hearing the narrator needs to get inside the minds of the characters and portray to us what the author had in his/her mind. To make a good production, the writer and narrator are very much a team of two horses telling the story.

    • I am glad you enjoyed the chat Eileen! JD is all that and more. My fave story is Fallen SEAL Legacy and a good selection for his various accents delivery is Cruisin’ For A SEAL where lots of nationalities meet on a cruise ship. Thanks for dropping by.

      • blushing here Eniko…:-) Cruisin’ For A SEAL was an exciting and challenging story to tell. In the case where there are many different character voices it’s very important to keep notes and bookmark each character voice to refer back to when the character resurfaces. I’m so thankful for you tube and the ability to quickly pull up a tutorial on any particular accent. I find that very helpful. 🙂

    • Eileen, thank you so much for stopping by and for your gracious comments. You are so right on the mark when you say the writer and narrator are very much a team of two horses telling the story. I have narrated books in the past with no author participation and the results were, shall we say, less than satisfactory. A proper collaboration with author and narrator embracing the authors perception while allowing the narrator a bit of creative license to add the emotion and additional nuances will usually result in a final product that will allow the listener a pleasant and engaging experience. Thanks again for coming on board.

  10. Tami Hilton

    If I had only one word to use, it would be “Amazing!”

  11. Running a bit late, but I have the results from Sexy Mr. Random…. and the winner is…. *drum roll*…
    JULIEEEEEE you lucky wench. CONGRATS I will contact you shortly.
    Thank you all who came by and commented. XOXO Hope you will join me on the next chat, I have some exciting ones lined up.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 564 other followers

Follow seelkfireice on WordPress.com

past chats

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Blogs I Follow

Whitney Dineen

Chick Lit and Middle Grade Author

Alexandria Sure

Unconventional Romance by Author Alexandria Sure

Dragons of Incendium

Paranormal Romance series by Deborah Cooke

Evangeline Anderson

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Delilah Devlin's Collections

Erotic Romance for Women

Mary's Ménages Reviews & Promos

♂♀♂ Another way to Review Erotic Ménage Romances...

Ella Ardent

Passion, Romance and Happily-Ever-After

Terry Brooks

Author of Shannara, Landover, Word/Void, and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Teatime and Books

All About Books

Mile High KINK Book Club

The Only Carry On You Need Is A Good Book

Becky McGraw

Contemporary Romance Author

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

professional, honest, and timely book reviews

Duchess of Romance

Romance books, historical romance, authors and book reviews

Crazy Lady's Book Blog

Awesome Authors, Badass Books, and Updates

Sarcastica

Personal blog of a person.

Conquests: An Anthology of Smoldering Viking Romance

Edited by New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Rants and Raves by KaLyn Cooper

Sizzling Romantic Suspense around the world melding fact and fiction together with steamy love

Rosanna Leo

Star-crossed loves are my specialty.

Eargasms Audiobook Reviews

Reading with happy ears!

Suzan Tisdale, The Cheeky Wench

Suzan Tisdale. Author. Storyteller. Cheeky Wench.

Ceci Giltenan, Author

Characters with character

Self-Publishing Roundtable

Interviews and blog posts to help you succeed in Self-Publishing. For indies, by indies.

Heather Rainier

Erotic Romance Author

BOOKTALK WITH EILEEN

Sharing the experience of living a thousand lives

Hot Highlanders & Wild Warriors

Erotic Romance for Women; Edited by Delilah Devlin

Sue-Ellen Welfonder ~ Tartan Ink After Hours

Sue-Ellen Welfonder's Books ~ News, Reviews, & Interviews Only

Deborah Cooke & Her Books

USA Today Bestselling author Deborah Cooke writes paranormal romance and contemporary romance; she also writes medieval romance as New York Times bestselling author Claire Delacroix.

Hardworking Heroes

Hardworking Heroes--in bed and out

Wild and Wicked Cowboys

Erotic Romance Authors with Cowboys on Their Minds

M. A. Abraham

Visit the worlds of author M.A. Abraham

seelkfireice

Anything and everything. Books are my passion!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

